25 Accidentally Vegan Foods

Changing to a vegan diet does not mean you have to give up all your favorite foods. Many brands have purposefully developed vegan versions of the foods and snacks we all love. Many others have products that are “accidentally vegan.” These products were not designed with a vegan diet in mind, but they contain all vegan ingredients. Keep reading to discover 25 delicious foods that are “accidentally vegan”.

ACCIDENTALLY VEGAN CHIPS

Doritos

Out of Dorito’s twenty-one flavors, only three are vegan. Spicy Sweet Chili, Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips, and Spicy Sweet Chili are “accidentally vegan.” The remaining flavors contain either chicken-based ingredients, milk-based ingredients, or both.

Frito’s

Original Fritos, Bar-B-Q Fritos, and Fritos Scoops are all vegan. Many other flavors are not vegan, though, so pay attention to labels.

Ruffles

Ruffles have three vegan flavors to offer. Original Ruffles, All Dressed Ruffles, and Tapatio Limon Ruffles are all vegan. The remaining flavors, however, all contain animal-derived ingredients.

Lay’s

Quite a few flavors of Lays Potato Chips have all vegan ingredients. Classic, Barbecue, Dill Pickle, Lightly Salted, Limon, Salt & Vinegar, Kettle Cooked – Original, Kettle Cooked – Cracked Pepper & Sea Salt, Kettle Cooked – 40% Less Fat – Original, Wavy – Original, and Stax – Original are all vegan-friendly. As with other brands, though, their remaining flavors contain dairy or other animal ingredients.

Kettle Brand

Many flavors of Kettle Brand Potato Chips are vegan. Maple Bacon, Sea Salt, Sriracha, Backyard Barbecue, Jalapeno, Pepperoncini, Red Curry, Roasted Garlic, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Spicy Thai, and Unsalted are all vegan flavors.

ACCIDENTALLY VEGAN CRACKERS

Keebler Original Club Crackers

Keebler’s Original Club Crackers may have a delicious buttery flavor, but none of that flavor comes from a dairy source. The crackers are “accidentally vegan.” Their Club Cracker Sandwich Bites with Peanut Butter also happen to be vegan.

Ritz Crackers

Original Ritz Crackers have only vegan ingredients. All flavors of Ritz crackers are vegan-friendly, even the bacon-flavored Ritz.

Triscuits

Many flavors of Triscuits are “accidentally vegan.” Among these are Balsamic Vinegar & Basil, Cracked Pepper & Olive Oil, Fire Roasted Tomato & Olive Oil, Dill Sea Salt & Olive Oil, Garden Herb, Hint of Salt, Original, Reduced Fat, Roasted Garlic, Roasted Red Pepper & Red Bean, Rosemary & Olive Oil, Rye with Caraway Seeds, Sea Salt & Black Pepper, Sweet Potato & Cinnamon Sugar, Sweet Potato & Roasted Onion, and Wasabi & Soy Sauce. A few Triscuit flavors contain dairy or even honey. Read your labels when in doubt.

Wheat Thins

Original Wheat Thins are vegan. Most of the other flavors are vegan, as well. Some of these are Fiber Selects, Garden Vegetable, Flatbread Tuscan Herb, Hint of Salt, Multi-Grain, Reduced Fat, Spicy Buffalo, Sundried Tomato & Basil, and Zesty Salsa. A few flavors of Wheat Thins include milk-based flavoring, so be sure to check the labels.

Saltine Crackers

Most brands of saltine crackers are vegan. Keebler Zesta Saltines, Nabisco Original Premium Saltines, Target’s Market Pantry Saltine Crackers, Sunshine Krispy Saltine Crackers, and more are perfect additions to your vegan diet.

ACCIDENTALLY VEGAN CEREALS

Fiber One

Fiber One’s original bran flavor contains all vegan ingredients. Fiber One Honey Clusters, however, do have some non-vegan ingredients. As with all foods, pay attention to the ingredients label.

Cap’n Crunch

Most flavors of Cap’n Crunch cereal are vegan because they contain no blatant animal ingredients. The cereal does have sugar and palm or coconut oil, however. These ingredients are considered questionable in the vegan community based on their processing or origin.

Life Cereal

Life Cereal is usually considered vegan. Just like Cap’n Crunch, however, it does contain sugar. Sugar is often filtered with bone char, rendering it technically non-vegan. Labels do not identify whether they used bone char in the sugar filtering process, so it is difficult to know if that ingredient is vegan. Whether or not to consume products containing sugar comes down to personal choice.

Kashi Cereals

Most Kashi cereals are vegan. Their vegan flavors are labeled as such on their websites. A few of Kashi’s vegan options include GOLEAN Crisp! Toasted Berry Crumble, Organic Promise Autumn Wheat, Organic Promise Island Vanilla, and Strawberry Fields.

Shredded Mini-Wheats

Unfrosted Shredded Mini-Wheats contain only vegan ingredients. On the other hand, the frosted version contains gelatin, which is considered an animal by-product. Skip the frosting if you want a vegan breakfast.

ACCIDENTALLY VEGAN COOKIES

Oreos

Most Oreo flavors are vegan, containing no milk and no animal products. A few flavors contain non-vegan ingredients such as honey, but most are entirely animal-free. Check the labels if you are unsure.

Graham Crackers

Most graham crackers are dairy-free, but not all are 100% vegan. Some contain honey. Some contain ingredients such as palm oil. A few vegan-friendly brands include Nabisco Original Grahams, Keebler Original Graham Crackers, Nairn’s Gluten Free Oat Grahams, and Chocolate Teddy Grahams.

BelVita Bites

BelVita has a few vegan products. Some contain sugar, which we have established as a grey area for many vegans. BelVita Bites have three vegan-friendly varieties: Mixed Berry, Chocolate, and Cinnamon Brown Sugar.

Back to Nature

Back to Nature’s entire line consists of plant-based ingredients. Honey is the one animal-derived ingredient you may notice on the labels. The brand’s three vegan cookies are Chocolate Chunk, Classic Crème, and California Lemon.

Nabisco Ginger Snaps

Nabisco has quite a few vegan options. Ginger Snaps are yet another cookie option suitable for your vegan diet.

ACCIDENTALLY VEGAN CANDY

Airheads

Quite a few Airheads flavors are vegan. Original Airheads, Airheads Bars, Airheads Gum – white mystery, Airheads Xtremes, and Airheads Xtreme Peg Bag are just a few vegan choices. Check the label, as some of the flavors contain ingredients like gelatin.

Fruit by the Foot

Fruit by the Foot does not contain any animal products, so it can be considered vegan. It does, however, include a grey area—items such as sugar, which some vegans try to avoid.

Swedish Fish

Mondelez uses a combination of corn syrup, corn starch, and carnauba wax to create the gummy candy Swedish Fish. Like many other sweet products, they contain the debatable ingredient, sugar. Strict vegans may avoid products containing sugar.

Dum Dums

Dum Dums lollipops are considered vegan apart from the grey area ingredients avoided by the strictest vegans. The lollipops contain no animal ingredients, but they have sugar and natural and artificial flavorings that could come from plant and animal sources.

Brach’s

Many flavors of Brach’s candy are vegan. Some do contain sugar or palm oil, so pay attention to the labels if you avoid those ingredients. Some vegan options from Brach’s are Mandarin Orange Slices, Cinnamon Hard Candy, Root Beer Barrels, and Star Brites.

ALWAYS CHECK LABELS FOR ANIMAL PRODUCTS

These and many more “accidentally vegan” products make sticking to your vegan lifestyle easy. Being vegan does not have to mean missing out on delicious food. Options are everywhere. However, companies often change their recipes or formulas, so it is always important to keep an eye on labels to make sure there are no animal products in your favorite snacks.

You May Also Like