The Ultimate Guide to Eating Vegan at Subway

Transitioning to a vegan diet is more accessible than most people think, but when someone is first getting started, it can seem daunting, especially when trying to eat vegan on the go. But going vegan does not have to mean never eating at a favorite fast food restaurant again. Many restaurants have begun adding vegetarian and vegan options to their menus for years, but if it still seems complicated, sometimes a little guidance on how and what to order can go a long way.

One restaurant that helps sticking to a plant-based diet stress-free is Subway. Their build-your-own method is the perfect way to ensure a meal only contains vegan-friendly ingredients while avoiding animal products altogether. Since customers watch as the sandwich experts build a meal, it is easy to be sure that there will be no unwelcome surprises afterward. That’s why we compiled the Ultimate Guide to Eating Vegan at Subway.

Vegan Options at Subway

The three main options at most Subway restaurants are a sandwich, a wrap, or a salad. All Subways offer a Veggie Delite piled high with veggies and topped with a favorite sauce option or two. Many Subways also offer a Veggie Patty. In the past, the veggie patty option was not fully vegan in the United States, but now they all are. Any sandwich creation made at Subway can be turned into a salad or a wrap.

Subway Salad Options for Vegans:
  • Veggie Delite
  • Veggie Patty
Subway Bread and Wrap Options:
  • Artisan Italian (White)
  • Artisan Flatbread
  • Hearty Multigrain
  • Sourdough
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap
Vegan Cheese Options at Subway:
  • Unfortunately, none of Subway’s cheese options are vegan. Here’s to hoping they can provide some vegan selections in the future.
Vegetable Options Available at Subway:
  • Veggie Patty (Select locations only.)
  • Banana Pepper
  • Jalapeño Pepper
  • Black Olives
  • Green Bell Pepper
  • Onions
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Pickles
  • Avocado (May include an extra charge)
Subway Vegan-Friendly Condiments and Sauces:
  • Sweet Onion Teriyaki
  • Ketchup
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Creamy Italian
  • BBQ Sauce
  • Golden Italian
  • Hot Pepper Relish
  • Giardiniera
  • Sweet Chili Sauce
  • Fire-Roasted Tomato Sauce
  • Mustard
  • Buffalo Sauce
  • Sea Salt
  • Black Pepper
  • Oil
Subway Vegan Side Options and Desserts:
  • Chips (Only select brands will be vegan. Always check labels.)
  • Applesauce

Unfortunately, none of Subway’s current cookie options are vegan, but we always hope they will consider adding some vegan selections someday.

Subway Vegan Options Outside of the USA

Anyone fortunate enough to visit a Subway outside the United States may find several more vegan options on their menus.

Vegan Subway Options in India:
  • Aloo Patty (Sandwich patty made from a potato base with vegetables and spices.)
  • Hara Bhara Kebab (Patty made with potatoes, spinach, herbs, and peas.)
  • Mexican Patty (Bean-based patty flavored with Mexican spices.)
  • Tandoori Tofu (Tofu cubes in a spicy tandoori sauce.)
  • Veg Seekh (Patty made with potatoes, vegetables, and herbs.)
  • Chatpata Chana (Filling made with chickpeas, onions, and peppers.)
  • Veg Shammi Kebab (A sandwich patty made of lentils, vegetables, and spices.)
  • Top these delicious options with a sandwich filling of corn and peas (Filling contains corn, peas, and carrots mixed with vegan mayo.)
Plant-Based Subways Options in Finland:
  • Vegan Delite – meat-free steak sub made with a soy and vegetable-based spicy steak patty
Subway restaurants in the United Kingdom offer:
  • Vegetable-Based Plant Patty
  • Vegan Garlic Aioli Wrap (Made with a plant-based patty, vegetables, and vegan garlic aioli sauce.)
  • Vegan Cheese Toasted Bite (Vegan cheese and vegetables toasted on a ciabatta roll.)
  • TLC Club (Made with the soy-based “tastes like chicken” patty.)


Testing New Vegan Options at Subway

Back in the U.S., Subways are testing new vegan options at select locations, including:

  • The Italian Black Bean Patty
  • Sweet Riblet Vegan Barbecue Patty
  • The Malibu Greek (Falafel Patty with Vegetables)
  • Beyond Meat Meatballs

Subway menu offerings often differ depending on location. Some locations may be more vegan-forward than others, but all Subway locations carry at least a few vegan options, some more than others. Like any restaurant offering non-vegan options, there is always a chance for cross-contamination via food surfaces or utensils. Some vegans do not consider this an issue, but others may consider it a huge concern. For more information on Subway’s nutrition check out the Subway U.S. Allergy and Sensitivity Information.

What vegan additions would you like to see at your local Subway? Have you been to any of the Subway restaurants across the pond? If so, let us know your favorite meals in the United States and on the other side of the world.

You May Also Like